Close X

Mountain Judicial Circuit Lawyer

Rabun County Courthouse

Sean A. Black regularly handles criminal cases throughout the Mountain Judicial Circuit of the State of Georgia.  In that circuit, he handles felony and misdemeanor criminal offenses as well as domestic relations actions.

Habersham County Courthouse

The Mountain Judicial Circuit consists of Stephens County, Habersham County, and Rabun County in the State of Georgia.

The Superior Court covers the circuit.  The Chief Judge is Hon. Chan Caudell; the other Superior Court Judge in the circuit is Hon. Russell W. Smith.  The Superior Court has jurisdiction over all three counties:  Habersham, Stephens and Rabun.

Stephens County Courthouse

There is a State Court in Stephens County.  The Judge of that court is James Irvin.  The Solicitor General is Dan T. Pressley, Sr.

There is a State Court in Habersham County.  The Judge is Steven Campbell.  The Solicitor General is Bill Oliver.

There is no State Court in Rabun County.  Misdemeanors and other minor offenses are often presented first in the Probate Court of Rabun County.  The Probate Courts of Habersham and Stephens Counties do not handle any traffic matters.

There are a number of municipal courts in the three counties including the courts of Toccoa, Clarkesville, Cornelia, Demorest, Baldwin, Clayton, Tallulah Falls, Mountain City, and Dillard.  These courts handle traffic and certain minor misdemeanor offenses and city ordinance violations which occur within the municipal jurisdictions.

Sean A. Black regularly handles matters in these courts.

Standing Orders

The Mountain Circuit judges have promulgated a number of standing orders. Any attorney handling a case in the circuit needs to be aware of and comply with these orders.



Dedicated to getting you the best possible result in your case.


We provide brief no charge consultations for new criminal, traffic and DUI cases. Fees may be charged for consultations or case reviews for post-judgment matters including sex offender issues.

Black Law Offices Location
706-282-4694 (fax)
Mon: 08:30am - 05:30pm
Tue: 08:30am - 05:30pm
Wed: 08:30am - 05:30pm
Thu: 08:30am - 05:30pm
Fri: 08:30am - 12:00pm