One of the semi-regular cases that we handle is cleaning up a mess caused by clients paying a traffic ticket without consulting a lawyer. There are a number of offenses that can result in a suspension of your license for many reasons.
North Carolina driver's license holders show up quite often. They think it will be easier and maybe cheaper to just pay the fine. However, 15 mph over the limit when the limit is at least 55 mph is enough to have these drivers face a suspension. For NC drivers, a speed of 80 mph or more may also be enough to trigger a suspension.
Under 21 Georgia drivers also have some traps waiting if they rack up too many points or plead to a 4 point assessable offense.
Suspended license and registration and many other offenses carry suspensions.
It is important to consult with a knowledgeable traffic lawyer before taking any action on a traffic citation.
If you did not wait and now have a letter from the licensing authority alerting you to action being taken against your license, it may not be too late. Georgia courts can take corrective action on citations within six months of the disposition of the ticket. We are experienced at correcting these citations to avoid these types of negative consequences.